Utah is a no-fault insurance state for car insurance coverage. However, no-fault insurance does not mean you do not need to purchase car insurance in Utah. Drivers must have a certain amount of car insurance in Utah to operate a motor vehicle legally. Because car insurance coverage can be expensive, the following tips can help you find the best car insurance in Utah for the lowest prices.
8 Tips for Finding the Best Car Insurance in Utah
- Consider the Cost of Insurance Before Purchasing a Vehicle
- Obtain Several Car Insurance Quotes in Utah from Different Insurance Companies
- Do Not Assume Cheap Car Insurance in Utah is the Best Auto Insurance in Utah
- Ask the Insurance Agent About Potential Car Insurance Discounts
- Consider Higher Deductibles to Lower the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Utah
- Improve Your Credit Score to Lower Your Utah Car Insurance Rates
- Review the Need for Each Type of Insurance Coverage
- How to Avoid Fraud When Purchasing Car Insurance
Each state dictates minimum car insurance coverage for registered vehicles, and the laws can vary. Utah is a no-fault insurance state, meaning that you file an insurance claim for property damage, bodily injury, medical bills, and other damage caused by a collision against your car insurance coverage. You will work with an insurance adjuster from your insurance provider to settle your accident claim.
What Are Utah Auto Insurance Minimum Coverage Requirements?
No-fault insurance limits your ability to file an injury claim against another driver for a car accident in Utah, but it does not prevent all bodily injury or damage liability claims. For that reason, you may want to discuss your case with a personal injury lawyer before filing an automobile insurance claim after an accident.
Utah Car Insurance Minimum Requirements
Utah car insurance laws require drivers to carry at least three types of car insurance coverage — Bodily Injury Coverage, Property Damage Liability Coverage, and Personal Injury Protection Coverage.
The minimum amount of bodily injury coverage for car insurance in Utah is $25,000 for each person in a collision with a cap of $65,000 for all persons in a single car accident. You must also carry a minimum of $15,000 for property damage liability and $3,000 in personal injury protection coverage.
You may purchase higher amounts of insurance protection to protect yourself if another person sues you for damages related to an automobile accident.
What is Utah law for uninsured and underinsured auto insurance coverage?
By law, each insurance provider must include a minimum of $25,000 per person ($65,000 per accident) of uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage with each policy for car insurance in Utah. However, you may reject uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage by signing a statement that you do not wish to purchase this type of car insurance in Utah. In most cases, it is prudent to carry uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage because the benefits greatly outweigh the cost of insurance if you are involved in a car accident in Utah with an uninsured driver or a driver who carries minimum insurance coverage and your damages exceed Utah’s minimum requirements for car insurance.
What type of insurance coverage is optional?
There are several types of car insurance in Utah that are optional. Examples of optional insurance coverage include:
- Collision coverage pays to repair or replace your vehicle if it is damaged in an auto accident that is your fault. Most lenders require collision coverage to obtain a car loan.
- Comprehensive coverage pays to repair or replace your vehicle if it is damaged in a casualty not related to a traffic accident, such as fire, theft, storm, or vandalism. Lenders also typically require comprehensive coverage to obtain a car loan.
- Other types of optional insurance coverage may include MedPay, towing service, and emergency roadside assistance.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Utah?
Car insurance in Utah is required for all owners and operators of vehicles who are residents of Utah and for non-residents whose vehicle has been physically operated in Utah for 90 days during the preceding 365 days. Drivers are required to produce proof of insurance if requested to do so by a law enforcement officer. Failing to purchase automobile insurance can result in a fine and suspension of driving privileges.
How Do I Find Affordable Car Insurance in Utah?
Car insurance rates in Utah vary depending on a variety of factors. Some common factors that impact the average cost of car insurance in Utah include:
- The type of vehicle being insured
- Your driving record
- The average number of miles driven
- Your age and gender
- How long you have been a licensed driver
- Your marital status
- Whether or not there are other licensed drivers in your home, including drivers with a learner’s permit
- Your credit rating
- Your geographic location
- Previous car insurance coverage
For many drivers, searching for the cheapest car insurance in Utah is a priority. It is possible to find affordable car insurance if you are willing to invest a little effort and time when you shop for a car insurance policy.
8 Tips for Finding the Best Car Insurance in Utah
Car insurance coverage can be expensive. Choosing the right company and plan requires careful consideration. Following these tips to find the best car insurance in Utah.
1. Consider the Cost of Insurance Before Purchasing a Vehicle
Before purchasing a vehicle, you need to consider how the type of vehicle you purchase will impact your car insurance rates. Car insurance companies in Utah are permitted to use the type of vehicle being insured as a factor in calculating the rate of auto insurance. Costlier vehicles are more expensive to insure, in part because it costs more to repair or replace these vehicles after a collision. Also, some vehicles are considered “riskier” to insure, such as motorcycles, sports vehicles, and trucks. Therefore, purchasing a less expensive, safer vehicle can reduce the average cost of insurance cost in Utah.
2. Obtain Several Car Insurance Quotes in Utah from Different Insurance Companies
You can save money by shopping around for cheap car insurance in Utah. You should obtain three to five insurance quotes before you choose an insurance provider. Insurance rates can vary greatly from one company to the next. Comparison shopping is the best way to find the lowest car insurance rates.
When you are shopping for insurance rates in Utah, don’t forget to check with regional and local insurance companies. Often, you’ll find that these local providers offer lower rates for the same insurance coverage as larger companies such as State Farm, Geico, AAA, and Progressive.
3. Do Not Assume Cheap Car Insurance in Utah is the Best Auto Insurance in Utah
It is important to keep in mind that the cheapest car insurance in Utah is not always the best car insurance. Before choosing an insurance provider for automobile insurance, you should compare prices and other factors, such as the company’s reputation for customer service and paying insurance claims. You do not want to discover that your insurance provider is difficult to work with or denies most injury claims after you have a collision.
When shopping for car insurance, you can research each company’s reputation by checking with the Better Business Bureau and the Utah Department of Insurance for complaints filed against insurance companies. You can also search for insurance company ratings through J.D. Power and the Insurance Information Institute. You may also find consumer ratings through online ratings and reviews.
The company with the cheapest insurance rates may have terms and conditions that make the insurance policy less desirable. For instance, some insurance companies offer policies with “accident forgiveness” for an insured first accident. When you compare the cost of insurance after an accident versus the rate of insurance for a policy with accident forgiveness, you may find the risks outweigh the benefits of a cheap insurance policy. Before choosing an auto insurance policy, you should carefully review all terms of the policy and compare those terms with the cost and terms of other policies to ensure the money you save on car insurance premiums will be outweighed by the losses you might experience after a car crash.
4. Ask the Insurance Agent About Potential Car Insurance Discounts
Many insurance companies provide discounts based on a variety of factors. However, car insurance discounts are not typically automatic. You often need to ask your insurance agent about discounts for insurance premiums. Common car insurance discounts that may be available that can lower Utah car insurance rates include:
- Bundling insurance for home, auto, and life
- Insurance policies that cover more than one vehicle
- Discounts for veteran’s and military servicemen and women
- Vehicles that have specific safety equipment, such as airbags, anti-lock brakes, crash avoidance systems, anti-theft devices, etc.
- Discounts for good driving records
- Participation in a driving education course or defensive driving course
- Discounts for teen drivers with good grades
- Mature driver discounts
- Discounts for paying premiums through auto-draft or by paying a six-month or yearly premium in full
- Early renewal discounts
- Loyalty discounts for long-term customers
- Discounts for homeowners
- Affiliation with certain organizations or professions
- Accident-free discounts
- Discounts for low mileage of specific vehicle usage
- Discounts for hybrid vehicles
- Purchasing road assistance packages
- Choosing paperless billing and notifications
The amount you might save through car insurance discounts depends on your location and the insurance provider. However, some insurance discounts could result in savings of up to 20 percent or more. Before your insurance coverage expires, you may want to begin shopping around for lower rates and car insurance discounts. Discounts may change and new discounts may be added. An insurer may add a new discount that could reduce your insurance premiums substantially. However, you may not know about the discount unless you ask an insurance agent.
5. Consider Higher Deductibles to Lower the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Utah
In most cases, an insurer decreases the premiums for car insurance coverage for policies with higher deductibles. A deductible is the amount of money you are personally responsible for paying when you’re involved in an accident. For instance, if your deductible for your collision coverage is $500 for property damage, you are responsible for payment of the first $500 for any property damage claim if your vehicle is damaged in a car crash that is your fault.
By increasing your deductible, you can reduce the amount of money you pay for your automobile insurance. However, your out-of-pocket costs after an accident increase as you increase your deductible. Plan accordingly, because you need to ensure that you can pay the deductible in the event of a crash.
6. Improve Your Credit Score to Lower Your Utah Car Insurance Rates
Utah car insurance laws allow insurance companies to use an applicant’s credit rating as a factor in calculating insurance rates. If your credit rating is poor, you are likely to pay more for your automobile insurance coverage. According to some estimates, a poor credit score can increase your insurance premiums in Utah by approximately $100 per month.
Maintaining a good credit score can lower your insurance rates. One of the easiest ways to improve and maintain a good credit rating is to pay all bills on time. Payment history is the largest component of your credit rating. The amount owed on credit accounts is the second largest component of your credit rating. Paying down credit can also help you reduce insurance costs. USAGov has information and tips for improving credit scores.
7. Review the Need for Each Type of Insurance Coverage
In most cases, more insurance is better because you never know when you might need insurance coverage. However, if you are searching for ways to lower your car insurance in Utah, review your insurance policies to verify that you need all types of insurance coverage you are currently paying for each month.
If you own a vehicle that is older and not worth but just a few thousand dollars, you may want to reconsider whether you need collision coverage or comprehensive coverage. For instance, if your vehicle is worth $3,000 and your insurance deductible is $1,000, the insurance company would pay a maximum of $2,000 for a property damage claim.
You may also want to review other optional coverage such as towing insurance and roadside assistance insurance. If you have AAA or another policy that provides the same coverage, there is no reason to pay for coverage twice.
8. How to Avoid Fraud When Purchasing Car Insurance
To avoid fraud and other problems when purchasing car insurance coverage, it can help to remember the following:
- Be cautious of purchasing car insurance in Utah over the telephone, through the internet, or from parties who send unsolicited mail or emails. You can verify an insurance provider or insurance agent by using the Company & Agent search tool provided by the Utah Insurance Department.
- Do not pay an insurance premium to a company or an insurance agent without verifying that the company and person are legitimate.
- Always request receipts for all payments to your insurance company. Your receipt should contain your name, policy number, date of payment, and amount of payment.
- Review each of the policy terms in detail with the insurance agent before signing any documents or making a payment. Ask questions until you fully understand the terms of the policy.
- Request a copy of all documents you sign and a complete copy of the insurance policy. Contact the insurance agent if you do not receive a copy of your insurance policy.
- Once you receive the full insurance policy, read the entire policy, and contact your insurance company if you have questions.
How Long Do I Have to File A Car Accident Insurance Injury Claim in Utah?
According to Utah personal injury laws, you have four years from the date of the auto accident to file a lawsuit seeking compensation for damages. However, there are some exceptions to the general rule. For instance, if the claim involves a government entity, vehicle, or employee, you must file a Notice of Claim within one year from the date of the accident. It is important to speak with a personal injury lawyer as soon as possible to discuss your options for filing a car accident claim so that you do not lose your right to hold a driver responsible for negligence or wrongdoing.
If you are injured in a car accident in Utah, your first claim is against your personal injury protection (PIP). PIP coverage pays medical bills and other covered costs up to the policy limits regardless of who caused the collision. PIP insurance makes it possible for accident victims to obtain compensation for their medical bills and lost wages without the long process of proving fault.
However, accident victims may have the right to file a claim against the other driver for damages. If another driver causes the car accident, you may file a claim for bodily injury and property damage against the other driver’s liability insurance coverage. You may recover compensation for your financial or special damages from the at-fault driver’s insurance provider. Examples of economic damages include:
- Medical expenses
- Loss of income
- Property damage
- Travel expenses
- Medications and medical equipment
- Personal care
- Physical therapy and vocational therapy
- Assistance with household chores and childcare
Because Utah is a no-fault insurance state, you are not allowed to sue for general damages (pain and suffering) unless you meet a certain threshold. Pain and suffering damages include emotional distress, physical pain, mental anguish, scarring, and permanent impairment.
The threshold for filing a pain and suffering claim is $3,000. If your medical bills exceed $3,000 or you suffer certain traumatic injuries, you are entitled to sue the at-fault driver for pain and suffering or non-economic damages.
How Do You File A Complaint Against an Auto Insurance Company in Utah?
If you experience a problem with a car insurance provider, you can file a complaint with the Utah Insurance Department if you cannot resolve the dispute directly with the company. The quickest way to file a complaint is online. If you cannot file an online complaint, you may contact the department to request a printed complaint form by calling 1-800-439-3805.
Once the department receives your complaint, the complaint is forwarded to the insurance company for its response. The department reviews the allegations in your complaint and any response received from the company. Its findings are provided to you and the company within three to four weeks.
How Much Are Other Drivers Paying for Utah Car Coverage?
A quick internet search provides numerous websites for cheap car insurance in Utah. A website search may be a good starting point for researching how much other drivers are paying for car insurance in Utah, but nothing can replace your research and footwork. Local Utah car insurance companies are typically competitive with national insurance providers.
However, the only way to know how much drivers in your area are paying for car insurance is to research the average car insurance cost in your area. Before you begin searching for cheap car insurance in Utah, you may want to gather the following information:
- Year, model, make, and VIN for all vehicles requiring auto insurance
- Mileage of each vehicle
- Date of purchase
- Name and address of the registered owner
- Company name and dates of coverage of previous insurance coverage
- Name, age, and driver’s license number of each driver
- Information regarding previous tickets and accidents
- Type of and amount of desired insurance coverage
An insurance company may also require additional information to process an application for car insurance.
Finding the Best Car Insurance in Utah
Car insurance is a necessary expense that all drivers are required to pay. The reason for insurance coverage is to protect accident victims in the event of a car accident. While you search for low insurance rates, keep in mind that if you are hurt in a car crash, your insurance agency will need to provide you with the compensation you need for medical treatment, loss of income, and other damages.
If you have questions about a car accident claim in Utah, contact the personal injury attorneys of Acadia Law Group by calling 1-800-653-4600 for a free case review.